EF#1 – Patience

 

What is your word for 2015?

Bismillahirrahmaanirrahiim…

Maybe it is too early to sum up this year in a word. Yet, I need to do it, not only as a first writing project for English Friday, but also to help me to be a better person in this year.

The word that I choose to describe 2015 is patience. Why patience?

Patience, in my opinion, is not that we will be laid back, nor fatalistic. Patience is not a trait that force people to give up after seeing an enormous enemy. By being patient, people will keep their hearts calm no matter how hard their life is. They will see their problems as a series of tests to make them better. For moslems, patience will take them closer to their Rabb, who knows what best and what not for them. Patience will also lead them to think positively, that after all the hardships, the ease will come.

tumblr_mb5v8oRIpz1rxbbp0o1_500

image source

By considering all the positive meaning and benefit that it takes, why I do not choose that word? Are my reasons above too general? Well, I will give more personal explanations to you.

As a young adult and an ex-student, who see this world as a new land to conquer, I keep some high expectations in myself. I want to be a great person who reaches her success in young age.  I want to use all knowledge that I have learned in campus to help people, whether they are sick or not. I want to be a good educator, who not only transfers knowledge, but also inspires and motivates her students. And so, so many more dreams that hanging above my head, waiting to be realized.

But, to make those dreams come true, my path may be not easy. There will be holes or hurdles everywhere. There will be hard laugh and cynical comments from some people whenever I fall or slip. Of course, I should not reply them with anger nor complaints, because by doing that, I will waste my energy and forget my objectives. Instead, I will take patience as one of my provisions, to keep me walk on track. By being patient, I will not easily give up because I know that after those long and hard path, the shining dreams will await.

I know, some people may choose more active and aggressive words to make their spirits burn up. By doing that they will be more focused to achieve their resolutions. But me, who had been (quite) tired of running last year to pursue my objectives, want to take life more peacefully.

So, what about you? What is your word for this year? Please do not mind to share your thoughts!

 

This post was written to fulfill the first challenge of Blog English Club, a club which I joined three days ago. If you wish to join this weekly post challenge, please check this post  :).

35 thoughts on “EF#1 – Patience

    1. Thank you, Mbak Mikan… I’m happy that I am not alone 🙂 Will try to apply this word into my daily life in this year.
      Wish a good year for you too 🙂

      Like

  1. Why do most young adult like us have the habit to be impatient?
    Hehehe, I’m also having the same problem… I like to be fast. Thank you for sharing mba.
    I should have inserted this in my resolution list.

    Like

    1. Maybe it’s because we want to achieve our target as soon as possible, don’t forget that our energy level is quite high 🙂

      You are welcome, Mba Sandrine. I’ll come to visit yours 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Mbak Jo 🙂
      Me too, I find myself a bit grumpy when facing a bad situation. Will try to be more patient from now on.
      Let’s do our homework together, Mbak 🙂

      Like

  2. Is this Ami Bukittinggi? Hi Ami.. 🙂
    Well, indeed being patient is hard. Me myself always fail in being patient, but still trying to put the best effort to be so.

    Like

    1. Yes, Kak Miwwa *feel more comfortable to use that honorific* this is Ami who lives in Bukittinggi (well, it’s actually in Agam regency)

      Let’s try to be patient together 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi Ami, It is good to strive to be patient. Good things come to those who wait and being patient.

    You wrote this post really well. I only want to remark this sentence “I want to be a great person who reaches her success in young age.” For not confusing your readers, try to stick to the subject form, like this “I want to be a great person who reach (my) succes in young age”. You did good the rest of your post. Good spelling & use of tenses. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow… Ami. Mba Yo already commented on your post.

    Really nice word Ami. If you live in Jakarta, you will see so many people impatient, especially in facing traffic jam.

    Like

    1. Wow, I cannot imagine myself living in Jakarta, people are in rush and their life rhythm are quite fast, unlike in my hometown.
      Yes, I am glad to receive her feedback. Thank you, Mas Ryan 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hai, Ami.. 😀

    For me, sometimes I need to calm down and see the situation. I don’t want to hurry when doing something. That’s why I need a patience.. Good job, girl. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

