Reflecting on Religious Tolerance in Indonesia

Indonesian Muslims attend an Eid al-Adha

Bismillaahirrahmaanirrahiim…

After reading recent news from US (and more recently, Canada), I found that some Indonesians challenge the majority (read: Muslims) of this country to be more tolerant. They thought that if non-Muslims in both of North American countries could stand up for Muslims, Indonesian Muslims should do so, instead of just whining and playing as victims.

When I found some tweets addressing this issue, I gasped. I felt that they could make situation worse by stating their opinions in cynical tone. Thus, as an Indonesian Muslim, I have something to tell to you, dear readers. Based on the topic, I would like to focus on religious tolerance in Islam and the situations regarding that issue in Indonesia.

Continue reading “Reflecting on Religious Tolerance in Indonesia”

